Groups > Databases > Databases > Re: Conversions between relational and logical database constructs




Conversions between relational and logical database
constructs

Conversions between relational and logical database constructs
Thu, 3 Apr 2008 00:02:41 -0700
Hi all,

I'm researching two-way conversion methods available for converting
between the constructs in the relational data model (i.e., the
relations) and those of logical databases (e.g., Datalog-based
databases).  I'm aware of the basic mappings between the intensional
and extensional constructs in the Relational Model and those of
Datalog-based databases (for example, considering each relation as a
predicate), but I'm looking for a theoretical ground for such
mappings.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best regards,
Post Reply
Re: Conversions between relational and logical database constructs
Thu, 3 Apr 2008 06:17:05 -0700
On Apr 3, 3:02 am, Ehsan Akhgari <ehsan.akhg...@gmail.com> wrote:
> Hi all,
>
> I'm researching two-way conversion methods available for converting
> between the constructs in the relational data model (i.e., the
> relations) and those of logical databases (e.g., Datalog-based
> databases).  I'm aware of the basic mappings between the intensional
> and extensional constructs in the Relational Model and those of
> Datalog-based databases (for example, considering each relation as a
> predicate), but I'm looking for a theoretical ground for such
> mappings.
>
> Any help is greatly appreciated.
>
> Best regards,
> Ehsan Akhgari

Then comp.databases.theory may be a better place to ask. Your question
went right over my head. I have no idea what a Datalog-based DB is.
I'll watch for your post in c.d.t. It could be enlightening.
Post Reply
about | contact