Groups > EMAIL > Spamcop > Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?




Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?

Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?
Tue, 1 Apr 2008 20:36:26 -0700
Patto wrote:
>
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1764394515z50b39fdba95c6330eb57a7538917cae5z
>
> There are literally hundreds of links in this message, all pointing to
> somewhere on http://www.careerbuilder.com/
>
> Yet, SC does not seem to be able (or willing) to report any of these
> addresses. What is the reason for this? Legitimate company / joe job?
> Or just a regular spammer who knows how to evade SC?

The old 'too many links' result.

The algo is configured to stop finding, deobfuscating, and resolving
after some significant bunch of links.

Even if that hadn't happened, SC wasn't going to notify careerbuilder
anyway.

Parsing input: 208.82.7.22
Routing details for 208.82.7.22
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 208.82.7.22 :
postmaster@careerbuilder.com
Using abuse net on postmaster@careerbuilder.com
abuse net careerbuilder.com = abuse@careerbuilder.com
Using best contacts abuse@careerbuilder.com
abuse@careerbuilder.com bounces (301 sent : 151 bounces)
Using abuse#careerbuilder.com@devnull.spamcop.net for statistical
tracking.

No valid email addresses found, sorry!

If you are into notifying upstreams because there is too much bouncing
at the abuse address, there is one upstream:  AS20141 Quality Technology
Services = mwarrayat@qualitytech.com arin contact and/or abuse.net reg'd
abuse@qualitytech.com



-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
Post Reply
Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?
Wed, 2 Apr 2008 07:54:15 -0400
"Michael Golden" <mgolden@bkbusa.com> wrote in message 
news:xn0fog6r91jkzgh001@news.spamcop.net...
> I'm fairly certain CareerBuilder would honor an unsubscribe request.

If the OP is like me, he /never/ unsubscribes for anything he hasn't 
subscribed for!  It's a matter of principle.

If careerbuilder is a legitimate company, then they need to learn about 
confirmed subscription for their mailing list.  If they have a confirmed 
subscription list, then they should be aware that someone is including their 
name in spam.  In the latter case, they can ask spamcop to mark them as 
'Innocent Bystander' which is a better plan than bouncing spamcop reports. 
Some server admins do filter using spamvertized sites.  If the reason that 
they are bouncing spamcop reports is because many of their subscribers are 
not unsubscribing, then they need to learn how to keep their list current. 
(someone may subscribe and then neglect to inform them that they have 
changed their email address.  If they keep sending to that email address, 
ignoring bounces, sooner or later, someone else may get that email address 
and start getting their mailings.  To the new person with that email 
address, this is spam.)  Mailing list managers often get spamcop reports 
from careless reporters - one mailing list manager who had a /paid/ list 
couldn't understand why subscribers would send spamcop reports!  However, 
there are ways to deal with that, even if it is a nuisance, and it is one of 
those nuisances that spammers have created.  Just as offline merchants have 
to check ids because of the few who write bad checks and we all have to lock 
doors, online mailing list managers have to deal with the problems arising 
from the abuse by spammers.

If they are a legitimate company, then the email should be coming from the 
same IP address each time.  It shouldn't be difficult to contact them via 
some other avenue than a spamcop report and alert them that their name is 
being used in spam and what they can do about it.

Miss Betsy


Post Reply
Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?
Wed, 02 Apr 2008 08:09:51 -040
Miss Betsy wrote:
> If careerbuilder is a legitimate company, then they need to learn about 
> confirmed subscription for their mailing list.  

Google survey says?  *bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz*

http://groups.google.ca/groups/search?hl=en&q=careerbuilder+group%3A*abuse*

More than 11,000 hits for careerbuilder in the abuse groups... I think 
Post Reply
Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?
Wed, 02 Apr 2008 09:08:30 -040
Patto wrote:
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1764394515z50b39fdba95c6330eb57a7538917cae5z
> 
> There are literally hundreds of links in this message, all pointing to 
> somewhere on http://www.careerbuilder.com/
> 
> Yet, SC does not seem to be able (or willing) to report any of these 
> addresses. What is the reason for this? Legitimate company / joe job? Or 
> just a regular spammer who knows how to evade SC?

I doubt they are sending from some random IP in Russia. Also looks to be 
a forged/incomplete/oddball bottom received header. Looks like a joe-job 
to me.


Post Reply
Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?
Wed, 02 Apr 2008 09:11:06 -040
Patto wrote:
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1764394515z50b39fdba95c6330eb57a7538917cae5z
> 
> There are literally hundreds of links in this message, all pointing to 
> somewhere on http://www.careerbuilder.com/
> 
> Yet, SC does not seem to be able (or willing) to report any of these 
> addresses. What is the reason for this? Legitimate company / joe job? Or 
> just a regular spammer who knows how to evade SC?

and also lots of spams to the spamtraps from 91.76.169.58 ....looks like 
an equal opportunity spam infection -- gambling, shoes, bags, body parts 
....


Post Reply
<< Previous 1 2 3 Next >>
( Page 1 of 3 )
about | contact