Groups > EMAIL > Spamcop > Re: spam coming from Yahoo!




Re: spam coming from Yahoo!

Re: spam coming from Yahoo!
Fri, 4 Apr 2008 08:04:01 -0700
Gary wrote:

> I'm currently being bombarded by spam coming from Yahoo!, and have
> been reporting the spam to abuse@yahoo.com. But to no avail.

Please do not post spam or spam headers into discussion newsgroups^1.
Use a tracking URL.

> Should I report the spam to  SpamCop as well.

In this case, SC will notify the provider for the abused proxy, and
yahoo gets off scot-free.  Your manual (or additional notified if you
are a pay SC reporter) notify of yahoo could be useful unless yahoo
ignores you.

> I have posted the headers below.

No.  This is the tracker for your headers item:

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1770874654z9e0404ff9cb16187a9f93b2744392487z


How to make a tracker:

 1 select and obtain the complete spam
 2 privatize the header&body content
 3 webparse it & copy the tracking URL
 4 cancel the report & paste the tracker in here


1  ... in the manner described by the SC faq
http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/19.html  How do I get my email
program to reveal the full, unmodified email?

2 ... by modestly and unambiguously mungeing any private information you
don't want to expose, such as your name or email address which might
appear anywhere in the header or body.  Avoid excessive or confusing
mungeing.

3 login to the SC webparser, paste in the spam, and click Process Spam
button;  then copy the tracking URL from the top 'Here is your TRACKING
URL' of the appearance
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1505491930z5db2559eebcde98291b8e783c95d61cez

4 ... after parsing, the report is 'live' until the cancel button is
used.  After cancelling the tracker disappears;  the munged spam report
should be cancelled because it has been materially changed and because
you don't want to leave a tracker live.


^1 http://www.spamcop.net/help.shtml#nntp  Newsgroup Posting Rules - No
spam. Please do not post copies of spam or other commercials except in
the spamcop.spam group specifically designated for it. SpamCop provides
"tracking URL"s for posting spam samples. Please use them.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
Post Reply
spam coming from Yahoo!
Fri, 04 Apr 2008 08:15:34 -060
Hello,

I'm currently being bombarded by spam coming from Yahoo!, and have been 
reporting the spam to abuse@yahoo.com. But to no avail.

Should I report the spam to  SpamCop as well.

I have posted the headers below.

Thanks,
Gary

Return-Path: <donnieholman57@yahoo.co.uk>
X-Original-To: xxxx@mpls-mailin.inet.qwest.net
Delivered-To: xxxx@mpls-mailin.inet.qwest.net
Received: by mpls-mailin-01.inet.qwest.net (Postfix, from userid 65534) 
id 4E4501D7811; Fri,  4 Apr 2008 11:14:13 +0000 (UTC)
Received: from mpls-mf-01.inet.qwest.net (mpls-mf-01.inet.qwest.net 
[207.109.18.193]) by mpls-mailin-01.inet.qwest.net (Postfix) with ESMTP 
id 2EE5C1D780F for <xxxx@mpls-mailin.inet.qwest.net>; Fri,  4 Apr 2008 
11:14:13 +0000 (UTC)
Received: from n3b.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com 
(n3b.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com [76.13.13.73]) by 
mpls-mf-01.inet.qwest.net (Postfix) with SMTP id A3B1A5D1404 for 
<xxxx@qwest.net>; Fri,  4 Apr 2008 11:14:12 +0000 (UTC)
Received: from [76.13.13.26] by n3.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 
04 Apr 2008 03:10:54 -0000
Received: from [68.142.200.227] by t3.bullet.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with 
NNFMP; 04 Apr 2008 11:14:11 -0000
Received: from [68.142.201.252] by t8.bullet.mud.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 
04 Apr 2008 11:14:11 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp413.mail.mud.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 04 
Apr 2008 11:14:11 -0000
X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 847117.60288.bm@omp413.mail.mud.yahoo.com
Received: (qmail 18473 invoked from network); 4 Apr 2008 01:56:28 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.co.uk; 
h=Received:X-YMail-OSG:X-Yahoo-Newman-Property:Message-ID:From:To:Subject:Date:M
IME-Version:Content-Type:X-Priority:X-MSMail-Priority:X-Mailer:X-MimeOLE; 

b=SoWOnLUHV2DSf1/urW9Ja/j1r4gK4Vvc8HVCJO+IMHPi1MVRFuBl2+VTZ+rFga9MLNH89p4LjhOEol
SOtpyqsy7zGuEKTDq9/IkYTQNVg81L/BYKe9kHCcfMoDErfLfW376QWa5MDCaAl/lLg7WDgP6+tLHWEF
gicvWmdA6W628= 
  ;
Received: from unknown (HELO 190.51.154.49) 
(donnieholman57@190.51.154.49 with login) by 
smtp121.plus.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; 4 Apr 2008 01:56:23 -0000
X-YMail-OSG: 
P_W4JFsVM1lTF2S4z5YLv43.nqdjUioIx2lZdJYmyrPkuNFNY6Kqsbn6c4VbqM3d76L_tWc04W9k4SQU
PDNI1WkwSPxhVaa0wqUr6MPxUjscfatu2dEkXjc-
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3
Message-ID: <000b01c895d5$992d13a0$319a33be@190.51.154.49>
From: Canadian Pharmacy <DonnieHolman57@yahoo.co.uk>
To: client <DonnieHolman57@yahoo.co.uk>
Subject: internet drugstore
Date: Thu, 3 Apr 2008 21:56:41 -0600
MIME-Version: 1.0
Status: U
Post Reply
Re: spam coming from Yahoo!
Fri, 4 Apr 2008 09:28:18 -0500
"Gary" <gary-sc@invalid.com> wrote in message 
news:ft5d66$36s$1@news.spamcop.net...
> Hello,
>
> I'm currently being bombarded by spam coming from Yahoo!, and have been 
> reporting the spam to abuse@yahoo.com. But to no avail.
>
> Should I report the spam to  SpamCop as well.

And why would you not? Yahoo, or at the very least, the original mailers IP 
should be blocked.

Also, we all see enough spam, or spam headers, run  the sample through SC 
and post the tracker URL (at the top of the parse). If you don't want to 
sent a report just cancel (next to the submit button). 
Post Reply
Re: spam coming from Yahoo!
Fri, 04 Apr 2008 10:47:05 -040
Gary wrote:
> Hello,
> 
> I'm currently being bombarded by spam coming from Yahoo!, and have been 
> reporting the spam to abuse@yahoo.com. But to no avail.
> 
> Should I report the spam to  SpamCop as well.
> 
> I have posted the headers below.
[snip]
> Received: from unknown (HELO 190.51.154.49) 

SpamCop is better to report spam, because it will do a good job of 
diagnosing the headers.

It looks to me in this case that the mail is originating from a zombie 
(see link below) that is somehow sending through Yahoo.

http://cbl.abuseat.org/lookup.cgi?ip=190.51.154.49

As Bar0 said, put the spam into SpamCop and see what kind of parse comes 
Post Reply
Re: spam coming from Yahoo!
Fri, 4 Apr 2008 10:53:23 -0700
Gary wrote:
> Mike Easter wrote:

I'm going to leave some howtomakeatracker in here, because I think you
didn't do something exactly right.

>> How to make a tracker:
>>
>>  1 select and obtain the complete spam
>>  2 privatize the header&body content
>>  3 webparse it & copy the tracking URL
>>  4 cancel the report & paste the tracker in here
>>
>>
>> 1  ... in the manner described by the SC faq
>> http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/19.html  How do I get my email
>> program to reveal the full, unmodified email?

This one is important.  You didn't mention your mailuser agent.

>> 3 login to the SC webparser, paste in the spam, and click Process
>> Spam button;  then copy the tracking URL from the top 'Here is your
>> TRACKING URL' of the appearance
>>
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1505491930z5db2559eebcde98291b8e783c95d61cez

This one is also important, namely using the complete spam from #1
according to your mailuseragent, paste it into the appropriate
webparser, either 2 part or 1 part.

> When I try to report the spam using my normal process, SC reports that
> there is no body. Here's a tracking URL,
>
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1771047049z066412834ebe56482e1f68c1f62c84f4z

That means that you failed to paste the body into the webparser which
means that you failed to follow the instructions for your particular
mailuser agent.

> I have also tried to cut and paste the spam as well. But I get the
> same result. When I look at the email, it appears to be pretty large
> and is encoded in base64. Also is in multiple parts.

I can see that it is mulitpart alternative, but that doesn't mean that
it can all be pasted into the webparser.

What is your mailuseragent?  How do you obtain your access to what I
call the smtpmime or is also called the 'message source'?

> Gary

-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
Post Reply
<< Previous 1 2 3 Next >>
( Page 1 of 3 )
about | contact